Posted on

Essay to Read

Check out this H.L. Mencken essay on drinking: “But what is reliable stuff? What is the thing to drink, specifically? I go back to my Rule No. 1. The better thing to drink, whenever there is a choice, is the milder thing. Wine is better than a highball, a highball is better than a cocktail, and a cocktail is better than hard liquor taken straight.” Agree or disagree? I love Mencken as much as the next armchair academic, but I must voice my dissent.

About SpintoLovesScotch

I sing hard. I walk far. I drink a lot of whiskey.

2 responses to “Essay to Read

  1. Indeed. Common sense tells me the same,

Leave a Reply

